Art Monographs

product image

TRANSCENDENCE: (AMERICAN LANDSCAPE PAINTING, PAINTER RICHARD MAYHEW ART BOOK)

Written by Mayhew, Richard
Transcendence is the long-awaited, career-spanning monograph of American landscape painter Richard Mayhew. For over half a century, Richard Mayhew has been reinventing the genre of landscape painting. His luminous work evokes not only physical vistas but also emotions, sounds, and the pure experience of color.
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Chronicle Books | 136 Pages |
$30.00
product image

REX RAY: (CONTEMPORARY SAN FRANCISCO ARTIST, COLLAGE ART BOOK WITH ESSAY BY REBECCA SOLNIT

Written by Williams, Griff
Rex Ray celebrates life, work, and legacy of iconic San Francisco fine artist Rex Ray (1956-2015). This comprehensive volume features more than 100 of his works on canvas, wood, and paper--including never-before-seen pieces courtesy of the Rex Ray estate.
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Chronicle Books | 176 Pages |
$40.00
product image

MARSDEN HARTLEY: ADVENTURER IN THE ARTS

Written by Schuchardt Navratil, Emily
Marsden Hartley (1877-1943) was proud to call himself an American artist, but he dreamed of travel to Europe, believing instinctively that he would learn more there than would be possible in his home state of Maine or even in New York.
April 28, 2020 | Hardcover | Merrell | 208 Pages |
$70.00
product image

FANTASTIC PAINTINGS OF FRAZETTA

Written by Spurlock, J David
Discover, or return to, the world's greatest heroic fantasy artist, Frank Frazetta in this landmark art collection entitled, Fantastic Paintings of Frazetta.
April 1, 2020 | Hardcover | Vanguard | 120 Pages |
$39.95
product image

JOE MINTER: TO YOU THROUGH ME: THE BEGINNING OF A LINK OF A JOURNEY OF 400 YEARS

A manifesto-guidebook to one of the American South's most astounding art environments
September 17, 2019 | Paperback | Institute 193 |
$30.00
product image

JR: THE CHRONICLES OF NEW YORK CITY: (GIFT FOR FANS OF JR, CONTEMPORARY BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOGRAPHY BOOK, COFFEE TABLE BOOK)

Written by Jr
TED Prize winner, Oscar nominee, and one of Time's 100 most influential people of 2018, JR is a contemporary art superstar.
December 17, 2019 | Hardcover | Chronicle Books |
$40.00
product image

YAYOI KUSAMA: COSMIC NATURE

This first book explore uber-popular artist Yayoi Kusama's profound career-long engagement with nature as a bedrock of her hugely influential work. Yayoi Kusama's groundbreaking work has mesmerized audiences since her first exhibitions in New York in the 1960s.
June 30, 2020 | Hardcover | Rizzoli Electa | 128 Pages |
$40.00
product image

LEE UFAN: OPEN DIMENSION

Written by Hirshhorn Museum
The beautiful companion volume to Lee Ufan's largest site-specific outdoor sculpture project in the U.S. In fall 2019, the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden debuts 10 new specially commissioned outdoor sculptures from celebrated Korean artist Lee Ufan.
March 17, 2020 | Hardcover | Smithsonian Books | 144 Pages |
$50.00
product image

JOHN CURRIN: MEN

A revealing look at the evolution of male iconography in the work of one of the foremost painters of his generation. Since raising the ire of the early-1990s arts establishment with his deliberately provocative portrayals of women, John Currin has been best known for his brazen, militantly incorrect female iconography.
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Gagosian / Rizzoli | 208 Pages |
$100.00
product image

JOAN MITCHELL: I CARRY MY LANDSCAPES AROUND WITH ME

Written by Mitchell, Joan
I carry my landscapes around with me focuses on American abstract artist Joan Mitchell's large-scale multipanel works from the 1960s through the 1990s.
March 10, 2020 | Hardcover | David Zwirner Books | 112 Pages |
$55.00

New Arrivals