Fiction

SUMMERLINGS

Written with humor and poignancy, Summerlings is a powerful testament to love and friendship amid uncertain times--a Cold War coming-of-age story in which three best friends confront their fears of the Bomb, Russian spies, bullies, and their role in the tragic event that ushers them into adulthood. It's the summer of 1959.
August 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$22.95

FAMILY OF ORIGIN

A novel at turns exuberant and wise, in the vein of The Family Fang and The Portable Veblen, about estranged half siblings yoked together on a swampy Gulf Coast island after their biologist father's drowning. Welcome to Leap's Island, where a group of fringe scientists are obsessively studying the Undowny Bufflehead, a rare species of sea duck whose loss of waterproof feat
July 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$26.95

NICKEL BOYS

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida. As the Civil Rights movement begins t
July 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$24.95

DELAYED RAYS OF A STAR

Written by Lee Koe, Amanda
A dazzling debut novel following the lives of three groundbreaking women--Marlene Dietrich, Anna May Wong, and Leni Riefenstahl--cinema legends who lit up the twentieth century At a chance encounter at a Berlin soirée in 1928, the photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt captures three very different women together in one frame: up-and-coming German actress Marlene Dietrich, who would wend her way into Hol
July 9, 2019 | Hardcover | Nan A. Talese |
$27.95

HAUNTING PARIS

A timeless story of love and loss is transformed when a bereaved pianist discovers a mysterious letter among her late lover's possessions, launching her headlong into a decades-old search for a child who vanished in the turbulence of wartime Paris.
June 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$25.95

MOST FUN WE EVER HAD

Written by Lombardo, Claire
"A multi-generational novel in which the four adult daughters of a Chicago couple--still madly in love after forty years--match wits, harbor grudges, and recklessly ignite old rivalries until a long-buried secret threatens to shatter the lives they've built"--
June 25, 2019 | Hardcover | Doubleday Books | 544 Pages |
$27.95

PORPOISE

From the Whitbread and Los Angeles Times Prize-winning author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, a stunningly ambitious, fantastical novel about the theft of female agency by rapacious men and the ways in which archetypal stories can warp history and the present Mark Haddon's breathtaking novel begins with a harrowing plane crash: Maja, the
June 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$26.95

INVITED

Written by McMahon, Jennifer
"A chilling ghost story with a twist: the New York Times bestselling author of THE WINTER PEOPLE returns to the woods of Vermont to tell the story of a husband and wife who don't simply move into a haunted house, they start building one from scratch, without knowing it, until it's too late...
April 30, 2019 | Hardcover | Doubleday Books | 368 Pages |
$25.95

MACHINES LIKE ME

Written by McEwan, Ian
"[Set] in an alternative 1980s London. Britain has lost the Falklands War, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power, and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough in artificial intelligence. In a world not quite like this one, two lovers will be tested beyond their understanding.
April 23, 2019 | Hardcover | Nan A. Talese | 352 Pages |
$26.95

RABBITS FOR FOOD

Master of razor-edged literary humor Binnie Kirshenbaum returns with her first novel in a decade, a devastating, laugh-out-loud funny story of a writer's slide into depression and institutionalization. It's New Year's Eve, the holiday of forced fellowship, mandatory fun, and paper hats.
May 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$26.00

New Arrivals