Nature, Botanicals, Animals

product image

TAMING FRUIT: HOW ORCHARDS HAVE TRANSFORMED THE LAND, OFFERED SANCTUARY, AND INSPIRED CREATIVITY

Written by Brunner, Bernd
A captivating cultural and scientific history of orchards, for readers of Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire and Mark Kurlansky's Salt. A perfect gift for gardeners and nature lovers.
October 31, 2021 | Hardcover | Greystone Books | 304 Pages |
$29.95
product image

ON CATS: AN ANTHOLOGY

For centuries, cats have been worshipped, adored and mistrusted in equal measure. This beautiful gift book contains a selection of essays, stories, and poems on cats by writers from across the ages. In these pages, writers reflect on the curious feline qualities that inspire such devotion in their owners, even when it seems one-sided. Cats' affections are hard-won and often fickle.
November 2, 2021 | Hardcover | Notting Hill Editions | 172 Pages |
$19.95
product image

XEROPHILE, REVISED EDITION: CACTUS PHOTOGRAPHS FROM EXPEDITIONS OF THE OBSESSED

An updated edition of the cult classic, featuring stunning archival photographs of hundreds of the rarest and most spectacular plants on Earth, taken by a motley crew of cactus obsessives
November 23, 2021 | Paperback | Ten Speed Press | 352 Pages |
$40.00
product image

ON ANIMALS

Written by Orlean, Susan
Susan Orlean--the beloved New Yorker staff writer hailed as "a national treasure" by The Washington Post and the author of the New York Times bestseller The Library Book--gathers a lifetime of musings, meditations, and in-depth profiles about animals. "How we interact with animals has preoccupied philosophers, poets, and naturalists for
October 12, 2021 | Hardcover | Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster |
$28.00
product image

GREAT TREES OF NEW YORK MAP

Written by Meier, Allison
Discover 50 of the oldest, rarest, strangest, and most historic trees across New York City's five boroughs, from the 350-year-old "Alley Pond Giant" in Queens to the wizened Camperdown elm in Prospect Park. This two-sided guide includes a map, an introduction and descriptions by Allison C. Meier, and original photography by Colin Montgomery.
April 1, 2021 | PB | Blue Crow Media |
$10.50
product image

SECRET LIFE OF FISH: THE ASTONISHING TRUTH ABOUT OUR AQUATIC COUSINS

Written by Mackay-Hope, Doug
Discover the astonishing truth about our aquatic cousins: how they think and what they know, their experiences and unique behaviours, and the many things we have in common.
November 2, 2021 | Hardcover | Ivy Press | 224 Pages |
$24.99
product image

WEED: A CONNOISSEUR'S GUIDE TO CANNABIS

Written by Holland, Ellen
In this loving homage to beautiful bud, author Ellen Holland takes you on a journey into the heart of how cannabis is farmed, produced, and appreciated today. Now that cannabis is a product available in many parts of America, there have been significant headways in our understanding and appreciation of the botanical.
November 30, 2021 | Hardcover | Epic Ink Books | 256 Pages |
$40.00
product image

UNDERWATER WILD: MY OCTOPUS TEACHER'S EXTRAORDINARY WORLD

Written by Frylinck, Ross
From the creators of the Academy Award-winning documentary My Octopus Teacher, an immersive journey into the underwater world that inspired it--and holds transformative lessons for us all Craig Foster and Ross Frylinck regularly dive together in the awe-inspiring kelp forests off South Africa, without wetsuits or oxygen tanks.
November 16, 2021 | Hardcover | Mariner Books | 344 Pages |
$50.00
product image

BEARS: THE MIGHTY GRIZZLIES OF THE WEST

An up-close look at the powerful, notable grizzly bears--legendary apex predators of the American West. The mighty North American brown bear, most often referred to as the grizzly, is an iconic symbol of power and strength. Mostly found in the Western United States and Canada, the still-endangered bruin has made strides into a tenuous sustainability.
September 21, 2021 | Hardcover | Gibbs Smith | 224 Pages |
$50.00
product image

AVIAN ILLUMINATIONS: A CULTURAL HISTORY OF BIRDS

Written by Sax, Boria
An exquisitely illustrated journey through the complex and crucial relationship between humans and birds. Avian Illuminations examines the many roles birds have played in human society, from food, messengers, deities, and pets, to omens, muses, timekeepers, custodians, hunting companions, decorative motifs, and, most importantly, embodiments of our aspirations.
December 27, 2021 | Hardcover | Reaktion Books | 456 Pages |
$35.00

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image