Non Fiction

product image

YOU NEED A MANIFESTO: HOW TO CRAFT YOUR CONVICTIONS AND PUT THEM TO WORK

Written by Stanford D School
An essential how-to for crafting a guiding motto that sets intentions, increases creativity, and helps accomplish your goals, from Stanford University's world-renowned Hasso Plattner Institute of Design, aka the d.school. We all need agency to feel the power and joy of acting in the face of challenge and opportunity.
October 4, 2022 | Paperback | Ten Speed Press |
$15.99
product image

CREATIVE HUSTLE: BLAZE YOUR OWN PATH AND MAKE WORK THAT MATTERS

Written by Stanford D School
A vibrant, illustrated guide to blazing a unique and fulfilling creative path, from the Stanford d.school. Humans have always been creative hustlers--problem solvers who seek to live beyond the limits suggested by society.
October 4, 2022 | Paperback | Ten Speed Press |
$15.99
product image

GROWING UP GETTY: THE STORY OF AMERICA'S MOST UNCONVENTIONAL DYNASTY

Written by Reginato, James
An enthralling and comprehensive look into the contemporary state of one of the wealthiest--and most misunderstood--family dynasties in the world, perfect for fans of Succession, The House of Gucci, The Cartiers, and Fortune's Children. Oil magnate J.
July 5, 2022 | Hardcover | Gallery Books | 336 Pages |
$28.00
product image

ABOUT TIME: A HISTORY OF CIVILIZATION IN TWELVE CLOCKS

Written by Rooney, David
For thousands of years, people of all cultures have made and used clocks, from the city sundials of ancient Rome to the medieval water clocks of imperial China, hourglasses fomenting revolution in the Middle Ages, the Stock Exchange clock of Amsterdam in 1611, Enlightenment observatories in India, and the high-precision clocks circling the Earth on a fleet of GPS satellites that have been launc
August 9, 2022 | Paperback | W. W. Norton & Company |
$18.95
product image

EVERYBODY: A BOOK ABOUT FREEDOM

Written by Laing, Olivia
The body is a source of pleasure and of pain, at once hopelessly vulnerable and radiant with power. In her ambitious, brilliant sixth book, Olivia Laing charts an electrifying course through the long struggle for bodily freedom, using the life of the renegade psychoanalyst Wilhelm Reich to explore gay rights and sexual liberation, feminism, and the civil rights movement.
August 9, 2022 | PB | W. W. Norton & Company |
$17.95
product image

DOPE: THE REAL HISTORY OF THE MEXICAN DRUG TRADE

Written by Smith, Benjamin T
The Mexican drug trade has inspired prejudiced narratives of a war between north and south, white and brown; between noble cops and vicious kingpins, corrupt politicians and powerful cartels. In this first comprehensive history of the trade, historian Benjamin T. Smith tells the real story of how and why this one-peaceful industry turned violent.
August 23, 2022 | PB | W. W. Norton & Company |
$20.00
product image

POET WARRIOR: A MEMOIR

Written by Harjo, Joy
Joy Harjo, the first Native American to serve as U.S. poet laureate, invites us to travel along the heartaches, losses, and humble realizations of her poet-warrior road. A musical, kaleidoscopic, and wise follow-up to Crazy Brave, Poet Warrior reveals how Harjo came to write poetry of compassion and healing, poetry with the power to unearth the truth and demand justice.
August 9, 2022 | PB | W. W. Norton & Company |
$16.95
product image

DEMOCRATIC JUSTICE: FELIX FRANKFURTER, THE SUPREME COURT, AND THE MAKING OF THE LIBERAL ESTABLISHMENT

Written by Snyder, Brad
The conventional wisdom about Felix Frankfurter--Harvard law professor and Supreme Court justice--is that he struggled to fill the seat once held by Oliver Wendell Holmes. Scholars have portrayed Frankfurter as a judicial failure, a liberal lawyer turned conservative justice, and the Warren Court's principal villain. And yet none of these characterizations rings true.
August 23, 2022 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company |
$45.00
product image

FUZZ: WHEN NATURE BREAKS THE LAW

Written by Roach, Mary
What's to be done about a jaywalking moose? A bear caught breaking and entering? A murderous tree? Three hundred years ago, animals that broke the law would be assigned legal representation and put on trial.
August 30, 2022 | Paperback | W. W. Norton & Company |
$16.95
product image

DANCING COCKATOOS AND THE DEAD MAN TEST: HOW BEHAVIOR EVOLVES AND WHY IT MATTERS

Written by Zuk, Marlene
For centuries, people have been returning to the same tired nature-versus-nurture debate, trying to determine what we learn and what we inherit. In Dancing Cockatoos and the Dead Man Test, biologist Marlene Zuk goes beyond the binary and instead focuses on interaction, or the way that genes and environment work together.
August 9, 2022 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company |
$28.95

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image