Biography

GEORGE MARSHALL: DEFENDER OF THE REPUBLIC

The extraordinary career of George Catlett Marshall--America's most distinguished soldier-statesman since George Washington--whose selfless leadership and moral character influenced the course of two world wars and helped define the American century.
July 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$34.00

IF: THE UNTOLD STORY OF KIPLING'S AMERICAN YEARS

A captivating new exploration of Rudyard Kipling's life in Gilded Age America, and the essential work he did here, from a celebrated author and scholar of American literature Rudyard Kipling once towered over not just English literature, but indeed the entire literary world.
July 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$28.00

LEAVING THE WITNESS: EXITING A RELIGION AND FINDING A LIFE

Written by Amber Scorah
A riveting memoir of losing faith and finding freedom while a covert missionary in one of the world's most restrictive countries. A third-generation Jehovah's Witness, Amber Scorah had devoted her life to sounding God's warning of impending Armageddon. She volunteered to take the message to China, where the preaching she did was illegal and could result in her expulsion or worse.
June 4, 2019 | Hardcover | Viking | 288 Pages |
$28.00

MORE THAN ENOUGH: CLAIMING SPACE FOR WHO YOU ARE (NO MATTER WHAT THEY SAY)

In this part-manifesto, part-memoir, the revolutionary editor who infused social consciousness into the pages of Teen Vogue explores what it means to come into your own--on your own terms Throughout her life, Elaine Welteroth has climbed the ranks of media and fashion, shattering ceilings along the way.
June 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$26.00

KATHARINE HEPBURN: A REMARKABLE WOMAN

Written by Edwards, Anne
Katharine Hepburn: grande dame of American actresses, fierce individualist, and living legend. Nominated for 12 Academy Awards and winner of four, Hepburn achieved stardom against formidable odds. The woman behind the legend emerges in this sympathetic yet clear-eyed portrait of her exceptional life and loves.
July 1, 2019 | Paperback | Lyons Press | 528 Pages |
$18.95

PATH TO POWER: THE YEARS OF LYNDON JOHNSON I

The story of the rise to national power of a desperately poor young man from the Texas Hill country. Reveals in extraordinary detail the genesis of the almost superhuman drive, energy and ambition that set LBJ apart.
February 1, 1990 | Paperback |
$22.00

WORKING

Written by Robert A. Caro
From the two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Power Broker and The Years of Lyndon Johnson: an unprecedented gathering of vivid, candid, deeply revealing recollections about his experiences researching and writing his acclaimed books For the first time in his long career, Robert Caro gives us a glimpse into his own life and work in these evocatively written, personal pieces.
April 9, 2019 | Hardcover | Knopf | 240 Pages |
$25.00
product image

AUTUMN IN VENICE (HEMINGWAY)

Written by Di Robilant, Andrea
Perfect for fans of The Paris Wife!
May 14, 2019 | Paperback | Vintage | 368 Pages |
$16.95

LIONESS: GOLDA MEIR AND THE NATION OF ISRAEL

Winner of the 2017 National Jewish Book Award/Everett Family Foundation Book of the Year, this is the definitive biography of the iron-willed leader, chain-smoking political operative, and tea-and-cake serving grandmother who became the fourth prime minister of Israel. Born in tsarist Russia in 1898. Golda Meir immigrated to America in 1906 and grew up in Milwaukee.
April 1, 2019 | Paperback |
$23.95

FURIOUS HOURS: MURDER, FRAUD, AND THE LAST TRIAL OF HARPER LEE

The stunning story of an Alabama serial killer and the true-crime book that Harper Lee worked on obsessively in the years after To Kill a Mockingbird "A triumph on every level . . .
May 1, 2019 | Hardcover |
$26.95

New Arrivals