Biography

product image

TO THE ONE I LOVE THE BEST

Written by Bemelmans, Ludwig
A witty and charming account of the wildly entertaining Elsie de Wolfe in 1950s Hollywood, recounted by her dear friend, the beloved creator of Madeline Ludwig Bemelmans' charming intergenerational friendship with the late-in-life "First Lady of Interior Decoration" provides an enormously enjoyable nostalgia trip to the sun-soaked glamour of Los Angeles, where de Wolfe surrounded
March 7, 2023 | Paperback | Pushkin Press | 224 Pages |
$15.95
product image

MORTALITY

Written by Hitchens, Christopher
On June 8, 2010, while on a book tour for his bestselling memoir, Hitch-22, Christopher Hitchens was stricken in his New York hotel room with excruciating pain in his chest and thorax.
September 1, 2012 | Hardcover | Twelve | 128 Pages |
$22.00
product image

THOMAS PAINE'S RIGHTS OF MAN: A BIOGRAPHY

Written by Hitchens, Christopher
Christopher Hitchens, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of God Is Not Great has been called a Tom Paine for our times, and in this addition to the Books that Changed the World Series, he vividly introduces Paine and his Declaration of the Rights of Man, the world's foremost defense of democracy.
September 1, 2008 | Paperback | Grove Press | 320 Pages |
$16.00
product image

PETER THE GREAT: HIS LIFE AND WORLD

Written by Massie, Robert K
"Enthralling...As fascinating as any novel and more so than most!"THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEWAgainst the monumental canvas of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century Europe and Russia, unfolds the magnificent story of Peter the Great.
October 12, 1981 | Paperback | Random House Trade | 928 Pages |
$22.00
product image

ELIZABETH THE QUEEN: THE LIFE OF A MODERN MONARCH

Written by Smith, Sally Bedell
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - This "excellent, all-embracing" (The New York Times) biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a magisterial study of the woman known only from a distance--and a captivating window into her decades-long reign.
October 30, 2012 | Paperback | Random House Trade |
$20.00
product image

WILD DANCES: MY QUEER AND CURIOUS JOURNEY TO EUROVISION

Written by Adams, William Lee
For fans of Crying in H Mart and Priestdaddy; How a misunderstood queer biracial kid in small-town Georgia became a Eurovision Song Contest commentator; A memoir combining race, glitz, glamour, geopolitics, and the power of pop music. As a boy, William Lee Adams spent his days taking care of his quadriplegic brother, worrying about his undiagnosed bipolar Vietnamese
May 9, 2023 | Hardcover | Astra House | 288 Pages |
$27.00
product image

SPILLANE: KING OF PULP FICTION

Written by Traylor, James L
There has never been a full-length biography of Mickey Spillane, the most popular and influential mystery writer of his era--until now.
February 7, 2023 | Hardcover | Mysterious Press | 400 Pages |
$26.95
product image

HOME IN THE WORLD: A MEMOIR

Written by Sen, Amartya
A towering figure in the field of economics, Amartya Sen is perhaps best known for his work on poverty and famine, as inspired by events in his boyhood home of West Bengal, India. But Sen has, in fact, called many places "home," from Dhaka in modern Bangladesh to Trinity College, Cambridge.
February 14, 2023 | Paperback | Liveright Publishing Corporation | 480 Pages |
$19.95
product image

CHURCHILL'S SHADOW: THE LIFE AND AFTERLIFE OF WINSTON CHURCHILL

Written by Wheatcroft, Geoffrey
Churchill is generally considered one of the greatest leaders of the twentieth century, if not the greatest of all, revered for his opposition to appeasement, his defiance in the face of German bombing of England, his political prowess, his deft aphorisms, and his memorable speeches.
April 25, 2023 | Paperback | W. W. Norton & Company | 640 Pages |
$22.00
product image

FREE: COMING OF AGE AT THE END OF HISTORY

Written by Ypi, Lea
Family and nation formed a reliable bedrock of security for precocious 11-year-old Lea Ypi. She was a Young Pioneer, helping to lead her country toward the future of perfect freedom promised by the leaders of her country, the People's Socialist Republic of Albania. Then, almost overnight, the Berlin Wall fell and the pillars of her society toppled.
January 24, 2023 | Paperback | W. W. Norton & Company | 304 Pages |
$17.95

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image