Biography

product image

BRUNO SCHULZ: AN ARTIST, A MURDER, AND THE HIJACKING OF HISTORY

Written by Balint, Benjamin
The twentieth-century artist Bruno Schulz was born an Austrian, lived as a Pole, and died a Jew. "One of the most remarkable writers who ever lived" (Isaac Bashevis Singer), Schulz also created erotic art--masochistic scenes that caught the eye of a sadistic Nazi officer. Schulz's art became the currency in which he bought life.
April 11, 2023 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company | 288 Pages |
$30.00
product image

INTO THE AMAZON: THE LIFE OF CÂNDIDO RONDON, TRAILBLAZING EXPLORER, SCIENTIST, STATESMAN, AND CONSERVATIONIST

Written by Rohter, Larry
Cândido Rondon is by any measure the greatest tropical explorer in history. Between 1890 and 1930, he navigated scores of previously unmapped rivers, traversed untrodden mountain ranges, and hacked his way through jungles so inhospitable that even native peoples had avoided them--and led Theodore Roosevelt and his son, Kermit, on their celebrated "River of Doubt" journey in 1913-14.
April 25, 2023 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company | 448 Pages |
$38.00
product image

ONCE UPON A TOME: THE MISADVENTURES OF A RARE BOOKSELLER

Written by Darkshire, Oliver
Some years ago, Oliver Darkshire stepped into the hushed interior of Henry Sotheran Ltd (est. 1761) to apply for a job. Allured by the smell of old books and the temptation of a management-approved afternoon nap, Darkshire was soon unteetering stacks of first editions and placating the store's resident ghost (the late Mr. Sotheran, hit by a tram).
March 14, 2023 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company | 256 Pages |
$27.95
product image

CRITIC'S DAUGHTER: A MEMOIR

Written by Gilman, Priscilla
Growing up on the Upper West Side of New York City in the 1970s, in an apartment filled with dazzling literary and artistic characters, Priscilla Gilman worshiped her brilliant, adoring, and mercurial father, the writer, theater critic, and Yale School of Drama professor Richard Gilman.
February 7, 2023 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company | 304 Pages |
$28.95
product image

ZIG-ZAG BOY: A MEMOIR OF MADNESS AND MOTHERHOOD

Written by Frank, Tanya
One night in 2009, Tanya Frank finds her nineteen-year-old son, Zach--gentle and full of promise--in the grip of what the psychiatrists would label a psychotic break. Suddenly and inexplicably, Tanya is thrown into a parallel universe: Zach's world, where the phones are bugged, his friends have joined the Mafia, and helicopters are spying on his family.
February 28, 2023 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company | 224 Pages |
$28.95
product image

BEING LOLITA: A MEMOIR

Written by Wood, Alisson
AS FEATURED IN THE HULU DOCUMENTARY KEEP THIS BETWEEN US A dark relationship evolves between a high schooler and her English teacher in this breathtakingly powerful memoir about a young woman who must learn to rewrite her own story. "Have you ever read Lolita?" So begins seventeen-year-old Alisson's metamorphosis from student to lover and then victim.
August 4, 2020 | Hardcover | Flatiron Books | 304 Pages |
$26.99
product image

BAD AS I WANNA BE

Written by Rodman, Dennis
A wild ride inside the glowing head of Dennis Rodman--the NBA's greatest rebounder and America's most outspoken and outrageous athlete.When "Sports Illustrated" put the man they call "America's most provocative athlete" on their cover, they sold more copies than any other issue they had sold in a decade (except the swimsuit issue). Why?
May 12, 1997 | Mass Market Paperbound | Dell | 336 Pages |
$8.99
product image

ISAK DINESEN: THE LIFE OF A STORYTELLER

Written by Thurman, Judith
Judith Thurman's brilliant, National Book Award-winning biography of Isak Dinesen--now with a new foreword by the author A brilliant literary portrait, Isak Dinesen remains the only comprehensive biography of one of the greatest storytellers of our time.
December 6, 2022 | Paperback | Picador USA |
$21.00
product image

CONFESSIONS: A LIFE OF FAILED PROMISES

Written by Wilson, A N
Known for his journalism, biographies and novels, A. N.
November 1, 2022 | Hardcover | Bloomsbury Continuum |
$30.00
product image

SISTER NOVELISTS: THE TRAILBLAZING PORTER SISTERS, WHO PAVED THE WAY FOR AUSTEN AND THE BRONTËS

Written by Looser, Devoney
For readers of Prairie Fires and The Peabody Sisters, a fascinating, insightful biography of the most famous sister novelists before the Brontës. Before the Brontë sisters picked up their pens, or Jane Austen's heroines Elizabeth and Jane Bennet became household names, the literary world was celebrating a different pair of sisters: Jane and Anna Maria Porter.
October 25, 2022 | Hardcover | Bloomsbury Publishing |
$30.00

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image