Political Science

product image

UNMAKING OF THE PRESIDENT 2016: THE CASE AGAINST FBI DIRECTOR JAMES COMEY AND HOW HE COST HILLARY CLINTON THE PRESIDENCY

Written by Davis, Lanny J
A longtime Washington insider argues that former FBI Director James Comey's letter to Congress, sent just before the presidential election in 2016 was a key determining factor in Trump's win: "Compelling criticism...lapsed Trump supporters might well open their minds to this attorney's scholarly, entirely convincing proof of the damage done" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). Duri
February 6, 2018 | Hardcover | Scribner Book Company | 240 Pages |
$25.00
product image

GROUCHY HISTORIAN: AN OLD-TIME LEFTY DEFENDS OUR CONSTITUTION AGAINST RIGHT-WING HYPOCRITES AND NUTJOBS

Written by Weinberger, Ed.
In the tradition of Michael Moore, Ed Asner--a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show--reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.
October 10, 2017 | Hardcover | Simon & Schuster | 352 Pages |
$26.00
product image

OVERLOAD: FINDING THE TRUTH IN TODAY'S DELUGE OF NEWS

Written by Schieffer, Bob
From the explosion of fake news to the challenges of the 24 hour news cycle, legendary journalist Bob Schieffer examines political journalism today and those who practice it. Based on interviews with over 40 media leaders, Schieffer provides an inside look at the changing role of media and asks whether today's citizens are more informed or just overwhelmed.
October 1, 2017 | Hardcover | Rowman & Littlefield Publishers | 216 Pages |
$24.95
product image

WHAT UNITES US: REFLECTIONS ON PATRIOTISM

Written by Kirschner, Elliot
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "I find myself thinking deeply about what it means to love America, as I surely do." --Dan Rather At a moment of crisis over our national identity, venerated journalist Dan Rather has emerged as a voice of reason and integrity, reflecting on--and writing passionately about--what it means to be an American.
November 7, 2017 | Hardcover | Algonquin Books | 288 Pages |
$26.99
product image

RUN FOR SOMETHING: A REAL-TALK GUIDE TO FIXING THE SYSTEM YOURSELF

Written by Litman, Amanda
The must-have guide for young progressives looking to run for local office, complete with contributions from elected officials and political operatives. You've been depressed since the night of November 8, 2016. You wore black to work the next morning. You berated yourself for your complacency during the Obama years. You ranted on Twitter. You deleted Twitter.
October 3, 2017 | Paperback | Atria Books | 240 Pages |
$16.99
product image

UNTOLD: THE REAL STORY OF THE UNITED NATIONS IN PEACE AND WAR

Written by Williams, Ian
Drawing on personal experience with the UN, this combination of informative text and whimsical cartoons describes how the organization is supposed to work, how it actually behaves, and why there is a difference. UNtold lets readers in on the quirks and mysteries of international diplomacy and global decision-making.
November 1, 2017 | Paperback | Just World Books | 176 Pages |
$21.95
product image

YUGOSLAVIA: PEACE, WAR, AND DISSOLUTION

Written by Chomsky, Noam
The Balkans, in particular the turbulent ex-Yugoslav territory, have been among the most important world regions in Noam Chomsky's political reflections and activism for decades.
April 10, 2018 | Paperback | PM Press | 240 Pages |
$17.95
product image

WOLF WHISTLE POLITICS: THE NEW MISOGYNY IN AMERICA TODAY

The 2016 election year may be remembered as a year to forget, but for American women in politics and feminists alike it was unforgettably distressing--a flash point illuminating both the true state of play for women in public life and feminist politics in the early twenty-first century.
May 23, 2017 | Paperback | New Press | 192 Pages |
$15.95
product image

CLOSING OF THE LIBERAL MIND: HOW GROUPTHINK AND INTOLERANCE DEFINE THE LEFT

Written by Holmes, Kim R
A former U.S. Assistant Secretary of State and currently Acting Senior Vice President for Research at The Heritage Foundation, Kim R.
December 12, 2017 | Paperback | Encounter Books | 376 Pages |
$17.99
product image

DEMOCRACY AND ITS CRISIS

Written by Grayling, A C
"Mr. Grayling incisively surveys attempts by Western thinkers, from Plato and Aristotle to Madison and Tocqueville, to resolve what he calls the 'dilemma of democracy': the tension between the belief that power belongs ultimately to the people, and the desire for stable and humane government."
October 17, 2017 | Hardcover | ONEWorld Publications | 192 Pages |
$21.99

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image