Science + Psychology

product image

MAN WHO MISTOOK HIS WIFE FOR A HAT

Written by Sacks, Oliver
In his most extraordinary book, "one of the great clinical writers of the 20th century" (The New York Times) recounts the case histories of patients lost in the bizarre, apparently inescapable world of neurological disorders.
April 2, 1998 | Paperback | Touchstone Books | 256 Pages |
$16.99
product image

DARK NET: INSIDE THE DIGITAL UNDERGROUND

Written by Bartlett, Jamie
An Independent and New Statesman Book of the Year Beyond the familiar online world that most of us inhabit--a world of Google, Facebook, and Twitter--lies a vast and often hidden network of sites, communities, and cultures where freedom is pushed to its limits, and where people can be anyone, or do anything, they want.
May 22, 2015 | Hardcover | Melville House Publishing |
$27.95
product image

DREAMS OF EARTH AND SKY

Written by Dyson, Freeman
In this sequel to The Scientist as Rebel (2006), Freeman Dyson--whom The Times of London calls "one of the world's most original minds"--celebrates openness to unconventional ideas and "the spirit of joyful dreaming" in which he believes that science should be pursued.
April 21, 2015 | Hardcover | New York Review of Books |
$27.95
product image

HOW WE LEARN: THE SURPRISING TRUTH ABOUT WHEN, WHERE AND WHY IT HAPPENS

Written by Carey, Benedict
In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today--and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success.
June 9, 2015 | Paperback | Random House Trade | 272 Pages |
$16.00
product image

RAIN: A NATURAL AND CULTURAL HISTORY

Written by Barnett, Cynthia
Rain is elemental, mysterious, precious, destructive. It is the subject of countless poems and paintings; the top of the weather report; the source ofthe world's water. Yet this is the first book to tell the story of rain.
April 21, 2015 | Hardcover | Crown Publishing Group (NY) | 368 Pages |
$25.00
product image

PSYCHOPATH WHISPERER: THE SCIENCE OF THOSE WITHOUT A CONSCIENCE

Written by Kiehl, Kent A
A compelling journey into the science and behavior of psychopaths, written by the leading scientist in the field of criminal psychopathy. We know of psychopaths from chilling headlines and stories in the news and movies--from Ted Bundy and John Wayne Gacy, to Hannibal Lecter and Dexter Morgan. As Dr.
April 21, 2015 | Paperback | Crown Publishing Group (NY) | 304 Pages |
$15.00
product image

HEADSTRONG: 52 WOMEN WHO CHANGED SCIENCE-AND THE WORLD

Written by Swaby, Rachel
Fifty-two inspiring and insightful profiles of history's brightest female scientists. "Rachel Swaby's no-nonsense and needed Headstrong dynamically profiles historically overlooked female visionaries in science, technology, engineering, and math."--Elle In 2013, the New York Times published an obituary for Yvonne Brill.
April 7, 2015 | Paperback | Crown Publishing Group (NY) | 288 Pages |
$16.00
product image

IDEAS AND OPINIONS

Written by Einstein, Albert
A collection of insightful and thought provoking essays from one of the greatest thinkers of the twentieth century A new edition of the most definitive collection of Albert Einstein's popular writings, gathered under the supervision of Einstein himself.
June 6, 1995 | Paperback | Crown Publishing Group (NY) |
$17.00
product image

HYPERSPACE

Written by Kaku, Michio
Are there other dimensions beyond our own? Is time travel possible? Can we change the past? Are there gateways to parallel universes? All of us have pondered such questions, but there was a time when scientists dismissed these notions as outlandish speculations. Not any more. Today, they are the focus of the most intense scientific activity in recent memory.
February 1, 1995 | Paperback | Anchor Books | 384 Pages |
$16.95
product image

VOYAGE OF THE BEAGLE

Written by Darwin, Charles
In 1831, Charles Darwin embarked on an expedition that, in his own words, determined my whole career. The Voyage of the Beagle chronicles his five-year journey around the world and especially the coastal waters of South America as a naturalist on the H.M.S. Beagle.
March 13, 2001 | Paperback | Modern Library | 496 Pages |
$12.95

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image