Science + Psychology

product image

EVOLVING SELF: A PSYCHOLOGY FOR THE THIRD MILLENNIUM

Written by Csikszentmihalyi, Mihaly
No information available
August 21, 2018 | Paperback | Harper Perennial | 400 Pages |
$16.99
product image

READER, COME HOME: THE READING BRAIN IN A DIGITAL WORLD

Written by Wolf, Maryanne
The author of the acclaimed Proust and the Squid follows up with a lively, ambitious, and deeply informative book that considers the future of the reading brain and our capacity for critical thinking, empathy, and reflection as we become increasingly dependent on digital technologies.
August 7, 2018 | Hardcover | Harper | 272 Pages |
$24.99
product image

PERFECTIONISTS: HOW PRECISION ENGINEERS CREATED THE MODERN WORLD

Written by Winchester, Simon
The revered New York Times bestselling author traces the development of technology from the Industrial Age to the Digital Age to explore the single component crucial to advancement--precision--in a superb history that is both an homage and a warning for our future.
May 8, 2018 | Hardcover | Harper | 416 Pages |
$29.99
product image

ASK ME ABOUT MY UTERUS: A QUEST TO MAKE DOCTORS BELIEVE IN WOMEN'S PAIN

Written by Norman, Abby
For any woman who has experienced illness, chronic pain, or endometriosis comes an inspiring memoir advocating for recognition of women's health issues In the fall of 2010, Abby Norman's strong dancer's body dropped forty pounds and gray hairs began to sprout from her temples.
March 6, 2018 | Hardcover | Bold Type Books | 288 Pages |
$27.00
product image

YOU CAN STOP HUMMING NOW: A DOCTOR'S STORIES OF LIFE, DEATH, AND IN BETWEEN

Written by Lamas, Daniela
For readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology. Modern medicine is a world that glimmers with new technology and cutting-edge research. To the public eye, medical stories often begin with sirens and flashing lights and culminate in survival or death.
March 27, 2018 | Hardcover | Little, Brown Spark | 256 Pages |
$28.00
product image

NATURAL CAUSES: AN EPIDEMIC OF WELLNESS, THE CERTAINTY OF DYING, AND KILLING OURSELVES TO LIVE LONGER

Written by Ehrenreich, Barbara
From the celebrated author of Nickel and Dimed, Barbara Ehrenreich explores how we are killing ourselves to live longer, not better. A razor-sharp polemic which offers an entirely new understanding of our bodies, ourselves, and our place in the universe, Natural Causes describes how we over-prepare and worry way too much about what is inevitable.
April 10, 2018 | Hardcover | Twelve | 256 Pages |
$27.00
product image

GIRL AT THE BAGGAGE CLAIM: EXPLAINING THE EAST-WEST CULTURE GAP

Written by Jen, Gish
As East and West become more and more entwined, we also continue to baffle one another. What's more important--self-sacrifice or self-definition? Do we ultimately answer to something larger than ourselves--a family, a religion, a troop? Or is our mantra "To thine own self be true"?
January 16, 2018 | Paperback | Vintage | 336 Pages |
$17.00
product image

SEARCHING FOR STARS ON AN ISLAND IN MAINE

Written by Lightman, Alan
From the acclaimed author of Einstein's Dreams, here is an inspires, lyrical meditation on religion and science that explores the tension between our yearning for permanence and certainty, and the modern scientific discoveries that demonstrate the impermanent and uncertain nature of the world. As a physicist, Alan Lightman has always held a scientific view of the world.
March 27, 2018 | Hardcover | Pantheon Books | 240 Pages |
$24.95
product image

ELASTIC: FLEXIBLE THINKING IN A TIME OF CHANGE

Written by Mlodinow, Leonard
The best-selling author of Subliminal and The Drunkard's Walk teaches you how to tap into the hidden power of your brain. "Elastic is a book that will help you survive the whirlwind."
March 20, 2018 | Hardcover | Pantheon Books | 272 Pages |
$28.95
product image

STRANGE ORDER OF THINGS: LIFE, FEELING, AND THE MAKING OF CULTURES

Written by Damasio, Antonio
From one of our preeminent neuroscientists: a landmark reflection that spans the biological and social sciences, offering a new way of understanding the origins of life, feeling, and culture.
February 6, 2018 | Hardcover | Pantheon Books | 336 Pages |
$28.95

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image