Non Fiction

product image

HAWKING HAWKING: THE SELLING OF A SCIENTIFIC CELEBRITY

Written by Seife, Charles
Stephen Hawking was widely recognized as the world's best physicist and even the most brilliant man alive-but what if his true talent was self-promotion? When Stephen Hawking died, he was widely recognized as the world's best physicist, and even its smartest person. He was neither.
April 6, 2021 | Hardcover | Basic Books | 400 Pages |
$30.00
product image

MEDITATIONS: THE ANNOTATED EDITION

Written by Aurelius, Marcus
This definitive annotated translation of Marcus Aurelius's Meditations is an insightful look into the mind of Ancient Rome's sixteenth emperor.
April 6, 2021 | Hardcover | Basic Books | 384 Pages |
$28.00
product image

MADAM SPEAKER: NANCY PELOSI AND THE LESSONS OF POWER

Written by Page, Susan
The definitive biography of Nancy Pelosi, the most powerful woman in American political history, written by New York Times bestselling author and USA Today Washington bureau chief Susan Page. Featuring more than 150 exclusive interviews with those who know her best--and a series of in-depth, news-making interviews with Pelosi herself--MADAM SPEAKER is unprecedented in the
April 20, 2021 | Hardcover | Twelve | 448 Pages |
$32.50
product image

UNFIT HEIRESS: THE TRAGIC LIFE AND SCANDALOUS STERILIZATION OF ANN COOPER HEWITT

Written by Clare Farley, Audrey
For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and The Phantom of Fifth Avenue, a page-turning drama of fortunes, eugenics and women's reproductive rights framed by the sordid court battle between Ann Cooper Hewitt and her socialite mother.
April 20, 2021 | Hardcover | Grand Central Publishing | 304 Pages |
$28.00
product image

ELIZABETH & MARGARET: THE INTIMATE WORLD OF THE WINDSOR SISTERS

Written by Morton, Andrew
Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight. They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends.
March 30, 2021 | Hardcover | Grand Central Publishing | 384 Pages |
$28.00
product image

RICHARD III: THE SELF-MADE KING

Written by Hicks, Michael
The definitive biography and assessment of the wily and formidable prince who unexpectedly became monarch--the most infamous king in British history The reign of Richard III, the last Yorkist king and the final monarch of the Plantagenet dynasty, marked a turning point in British history. But despite his lasting legacy, Richard only ruled as king for the final two years of his life.
April 27, 2021 | Paperback | Yale University Press | 448 Pages |
$20.00
product image

EMPEROR: A NEW LIFE OF CHARLES V

Written by Parker, Geoffrey
Drawing on vital new evidence, a top historian dramatically reinterprets the life and reign of Holy Roman Emperor Charles V, ruler of the world's first transatlantic empire"Masterly."--William Anthony Hay, Wall Street Journal "Seldom does one find a work of such profound scholarship delivered in such elegant and engaging prose.
February 2, 2021 | PB | Yale University Press |
$22.00
product image

HUMOUR

Written by Eagleton, Terry
A compelling guide to the fundamental place of humour and comedy within Western culture--by one of its greatest exponents Written by an acknowledged master of comedy, this study reflects on the nature of humour and the functions it serves. Why do we laugh? What are we to make of the sheer variety of laughter, from braying and cackling to sniggering and chortling?
May 10, 2022 | Paperback | Yale University Press | 192 Pages |
$15.00
product image

OBLIVION OR GLORY: 1921 AND THE MAKING OF WINSTON CHURCHILL

Written by Stafford, David
An engaging and original account of 1921, a pivotal year for Churchill that had a lasting impact on his political and personal legacy After the tragic consequences of his involvement in the catastrophic Dardanelles Campaign of World War I, Churchill's political career seemed over.
February 23, 2021 | Paperback | Yale University Press | 320 Pages |
$15.00
product image

LONDON AND THE SEVENTEENTH CENTURY: THE MAKING OF THE WORLD'S GREATEST CITY

Written by Lincoln, Margarette
The first comprehensive history of seventeenth-century London, told through the lives of those who experienced it The Gunpowder Plot, the Civil Wars, Charles I's execution, the Plague, the Great Fire, the Restoration, and then the Glorious Revolution: the seventeenth century was one of the most momentous times in the history of Britain, and Londoners took center stage.
February 23, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press | 384 Pages |
$32.50

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image