Non Fiction

product image

UNFIT HEIRESS: THE TRAGIC LIFE AND SCANDALOUS STERILIZATION OF ANN COOPER HEWITT

Written by Clare Farley, Audrey
For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and The Phantom of Fifth Avenue, a page-turning drama of fortunes, eugenics and women's reproductive rights framed by the sordid court battle between Ann Cooper Hewitt and her socialite mother.
April 20, 2021 | Hardcover | Grand Central Publishing | 304 Pages |
$28.00
product image

ELIZABETH & MARGARET: THE INTIMATE WORLD OF THE WINDSOR SISTERS

Written by Morton, Andrew
Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight. They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends.
March 30, 2021 | Hardcover | Grand Central Publishing | 384 Pages |
$28.00
product image

RICHARD III: THE SELF-MADE KING

Written by Hicks, Michael
The definitive biography and assessment of the wily and formidable prince who unexpectedly became monarch--the most infamous king in British history The reign of Richard III, the last Yorkist king and the final monarch of the Plantagenet dynasty, marked a turning point in British history. But despite his lasting legacy, Richard only ruled as king for the final two years of his life.
April 27, 2021 | PB | Yale University Press |
$20.00
product image

HUMOUR

Written by Eagleton, Terry
A compelling guide to the fundamental place of humour and comedy within Western culture--by one of its greatest exponents Written by an acknowledged master of comedy, this study reflects on the nature of humour and the functions it serves. Why do we laugh? What are we to make of the sheer variety of laughter, from braying and cackling to sniggering and chortling?
May 18, 2021 | PB | Yale University Press |
$15.00
product image

OBLIVION OR GLORY: 1921 AND THE MAKING OF WINSTON CHURCHILL

Written by Stafford, David
An engaging and original account of 1921, a pivotal year for Churchill that had a lasting impact on his political and personal legacy After the tragic consequences of his involvement in the catastrophic Dardanelles Campaign of World War I, Churchill's political career seemed over.
February 23, 2021 | PB | Yale University Press |
$15.00
product image

LONDON AND THE SEVENTEENTH CENTURY: THE MAKING OF THE WORLD'S GREATEST CITY

Written by Lincoln, Margarette
The first comprehensive history of seventeenth-century London, told through the lives of those who experienced it The Gunpowder Plot, the Civil Wars, Charles I's execution, the Plague, the Great Fire, the Restoration, and then the Glorious Revolution: the seventeenth century was one of the most momentous times in the history of Britain, and Londoners took center stage.
February 23, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$32.50
product image

MUSSOLINI AND THE ECLIPSE OF ITALIAN FASCISM: FROM DICTATORSHIP TO POPULISM

Written by Bosworth, R J B
An incisive account of how Mussolini pioneered populism in reaction to Hitler's rise--and thereby reinforced his role as a model for later authoritarian leaders On the tenth anniversary of his rise to power in 1932, Benito Mussolini (1883-1945) seemed to many the "good dictator." He was the first totalitarian and the first fascist in modern Europe.
April 27, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$32.50
product image

TO KIDNAP A POPE: NAPOLEON AND PIUS VII

Written by Caiani, Ambrogio
A groundbreaking account of Napoleon Bonaparte, Pope Pius VII, and the kidnapping that would forever divide church and state In the wake of the French Revolution, Napoleon Bonaparte, First Consul of France, and Pope Pius VII shared a common goal: to reconcile the church with the state.
May 25, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$32.50
product image

EVER-CHANGING PAST: WHY ALL HISTORY IS REVISIONIST HISTORY

Written by Banner, James M
An experienced, multi-faceted historian shows how revisionist history is at the heart of creating historical knowledge "A rallying cry in favor of historians who, revisiting past subjects, change their minds. . . . Rewarding reading."--Kirkus Reviews History is not, and has never been, inert, certain, merely factual, and beyond reinterpretation.
March 16, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$28.00
product image

RADICAL VISION: A BIOGRAPHY OF LORRAINE HANSBERRY

Written by Colbert, Soyica Diggs
A captivating portrait of Lorraine Hansberry's life, art, and political activism In this first scholarly biography of Lorraine Hansberry (1930-1965), the author of A Raisin in the Sun, theater professor Soyica Diggs Colbert considers the playwright's life at the intersection of art and politics, with the theater operating as a "rehearsal room for [her] political and intellectual
April 20, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$30.00

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image