Photography Surveys

product image

AS WE RISE: CONTEMPORARY PHOTOGRAPHY FROM THE BLACK ATLANTIC

Written by Montague, Kenneth
As We Rise presents an exciting compilation of photographs from African diasporic culture.
November 23, 2021 | Hardcover | Aperture | 184 Pages |
$50.00
product image

WISCONSIN DEATH TRIP

Written by Lesy, Michael
First published in 1973, this remarkable book about life in a small turn-of-the-century Wisconsin town has become a cult classic. Lesy has collected and arranged photographs taken between 1890 and 1910 by a Black River Falls photographer, Charles Van Schaik.
January 1, 2000 | Paperback | University of New Mexico Press | 148 Pages |
$34.95
product image

PERSONA NON GRATA

Written by Boogie
Edgy and gritty albeit stunning photographs revealing and documenting the darker side of Bangkok, Thailand; the Land of Smiles. What comes to mind when you think of Thailand? For many, it's The Land of Smiles, but that couldn't be further from the truth, in my opinion, at least when you take the time to scratch beneath the surface.
December 14, 2021 | Hardcover | powerHouse Books | 136 Pages |
$39.95
product image

ASIA CALLING: A PHOTOGRAPHER'S NOTEBOOK 1980-1997

Written by Grazda, Edward
A spectacular photographer's daybook, in the tradition of Peter Beard, Bill Burke, and Robert Frank, detailing the wanderlust of faraway travel and profound discovery in a part of the world few desire to wander. Asia Calling is longtime mid-east photographer Edward Grazda's art journal recap of his decades traversing the globe during times of immense social and cultural change in the As
September 14, 2021 | Hardcover | powerHouse Books |
$35.00
product image

VIVIAN MAIER DEVELOPED: THE UNTOLD STORY OF THE PHOTOGRAPHER NANNY

Written by Marks, Ann
The definitive biography that unlocks the remarkable story of Vivian Maier, the nanny who lived secretly as a world-class photographer, featuring nearly 400 of her images, many never seen before, placed for the first time in the context of her life. Vivian Maier, the photographer nanny whose work was famously discovered in a Chicago storage locker, captured the imagination of the world
December 7, 2021 | Hardcover | Atria Books | 368 Pages |
$40.00
product image

DEVOUR THE LAND: WAR AND AMERICAN LANDSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY SINCE 1970

Tracing the impacts of militarism on the American landscape, through the lens of art, environmental studies, and politics Devour the Land considers how contemporary photographers have responded to the US military's impact on the domestic environment since the 1970s, a dynamic period for environmental activism as well as for photography.
November 30, 2021 | Paperback | Harvard Art Museums | 224 Pages |
$50.00
product image

MAN RAY: THE ARTIST AND HIS SHADOWS

Written by Lubow, Arthur
A biography of the elusive but celebrated Dada and Surrealist artist and photographer connecting his Jewish background to his life and art Man Ray (1890-1976), a founding father of Dada and a key player in French Surrealism, is one of the central artists of the twentieth century. He is also one of the most elusive.
September 14, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$26.00
product image

COLORS OF CONFINEMENT: RARE KODACHROME PHOTOGRAPHS OF JAPANESE AMERICAN INCARCERATION IN WORLD WAR II

In 1942, Bill Manbo (1908-1992) and his family were forced from their Hollywood home into the Japanese American internment camp at Heart Mountain in Wyoming.
August 1, 2021 | PB | University of North Carolina Press |
$29.95
product image

WILD WORLD: NATURE THROUGH AN AUTISTIC EYE

Written by Bowen, Alfie
- A stunning compilation of wildlife photography from autistic environmental campaigner Alfie Bowen- Evocative, beautiful pictures of animals, from lions to lemurs, flamingos and koi fish- Foreword from wildlife presenter Chris Packham and an introduction from Alfie Bowen himselfWith each day spent outdoors I am reminded of what a beautiful world we all call home, and the challenges that face ecos
October 29, 2021 | Hardcover | Acc Art Books | 228 Pages |
$55.00
product image

PHOTOGRAPHY, A FEMINIST HISTORY

Written by Chronicle Books
This feminist retelling of the history of photography puts women in the picture--and, more importantly, behind the camera! In ten thematic, chronological sections, Tate Modern curator Emma Lewis explores the vital role women artists have played in shaping the ever-evolving medium of photography.
October 26, 2021 | Hardcover | Chronicle Books | 160 Pages |
$40.00

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image