Photography Surveys

product image

PERSONA NON GRATA

Written by Boogie
Edgy and gritty albeit stunning photographs revealing and documenting the darker side of Bangkok, Thailand; the Land of Smiles. What comes to mind when you think of Thailand? For many, it's The Land of Smiles, but that couldn't be further from the truth, in my opinion, at least when you take the time to scratch beneath the surface.
July 5, 2022 | Hardcover | powerHouse Books | 136 Pages |
$39.95
product image

ASIA CALLING: A PHOTOGRAPHER'S NOTEBOOK 1980-1997

Written by Grazda, Edward
A spectacular photographer's daybook, in the tradition of Peter Beard, Bill Burke, and Robert Frank, detailing the wanderlust of faraway travel and profound discovery in a part of the world few desire to wander. Asia Calling is longtime mid-east photographer Edward Grazda's art journal recap of his decades traversing the globe during times of immense social and cultural change in the As
September 14, 2021 | Hardcover | powerHouse Books | 72 Pages |
$35.00
product image

VIVIAN MAIER DEVELOPED: THE UNTOLD STORY OF THE PHOTOGRAPHER NANNY

Written by Marks, Ann
The definitive biography that unlocks the remarkable story of Vivian Maier, the nanny who lived secretly as a world-class photographer, featuring nearly 400 of her images, many never seen before, placed for the first time in the context of her life. Vivian Maier, the photographer nanny whose work was famously discovered in a Chicago storage locker, captured the imagination of the world
December 7, 2021 | Hardcover | Atria Books |
$40.00
product image

DEVOUR THE LAND: WAR AND AMERICAN LANDSCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY SINCE 1970

Tracing the impacts of militarism on the American landscape, through the lens of art, environmental studies, and politics Devour the Land considers how contemporary photographers have responded to the US military's impact on the domestic environment since the 1970s, a dynamic period for environmental activism as well as for photography.
December 7, 2021 | Paperback | Harvard Art Museums | 262 Pages |
$50.00
product image

MAN RAY: THE ARTIST AND HIS SHADOWS

Written by Lubow, Arthur
A biography of the elusive but celebrated Dada and Surrealist artist and photographer connecting his Jewish background to his life and art Man Ray (1890-1976), a founding father of Dada and a key player in French Surrealism, is one of the central artists of the twentieth century. He is also one of the most elusive.
September 14, 2021 | Hardcover | Yale University Press |
$26.00
product image

COLORS OF CONFINEMENT: RARE KODACHROME PHOTOGRAPHS OF JAPANESE AMERICAN INCARCERATION IN WORLD WAR II

In 1942, Bill Manbo (1908-1992) and his family were forced from their Hollywood home into the Japanese American internment camp at Heart Mountain in Wyoming.
August 1, 2021 | Paperback | University of North Carolina Press | 136 Pages |
$29.95
product image

WILD WORLD: NATURE THROUGH AN AUTISTIC EYE

Written by Bowen, Alfie
- A stunning compilation of wildlife photography from autistic environmental campaigner Alfie Bowen- Evocative, beautiful pictures of animals, from lions to lemurs, flamingos and koi fish- Foreword from wildlife presenter Chris Packham and an introduction from Alfie Bowen himselfWith each day spent outdoors I am reminded of what a beautiful world we all call home, and the challenges that face ecos
October 29, 2021 | Hardcover | Acc Art Books | 228 Pages |
$55.00
product image

PHOTOGRAPHY, A FEMINIST HISTORY

Written by Chronicle Books
This feminist retelling of the history of photography puts women in the picture--and, more importantly, behind the camera! In ten thematic, chronological sections, Tate Modern curator Emma Lewis explores the vital role women artists have played in shaping the ever-evolving medium of photography.
October 26, 2021 | Hardcover | Chronicle Books |
$45.00
product image

FIRE

Written by Pictet, Prix
- For the ninth time, the Prix Pictet honors the most impressive photographs of our society and environment- A powerful collection of photographic art, compelling for anyone interested in sustainability, climate change, and biodiversity- Following the award ceremony and exhibition at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London, in December 2021, further exhibitions follow in New York and other cities aro
January 26, 2022 | Hardcover | Te Neues Publishing Company | 148 Pages |
$65.00
product image

INNER HARMONY: LIVING IN BALANCE

Written by Kolkin, Jon
- The life of Buddhist monastics captured in 220 rare images by renowned photography artist Jon Kolkin- Guiding principles of spirituality and meditation across 18 chapters, sharing key tenets of Buddhism for a life in harmony and mindfulness- A fascinating photo book with inspiring forewords by the Dalai Lama and Queen Mother of BhutanSearching for peace within -- an increasing necessity, and cha
October 15, 2021 | Hardcover | Te Neues Publishing Company | 256 Pages |
$55.00

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image