New Arrivals

product image

AMERICA'S IMPRESSIONISM: ECHOES OF A REVOLUTION

Written by Burdan, Amanda C
A beautifully illustrated account of the Impressionist experiment in the United States--showing how the French style was put to distinctly American use
June 30, 2020 | Hardcover | Other Distribution | 192 Pages |
$45.00
product image

AMERICA'S LAST GREAT NEWSPAPER WAR: THE DEATH OF PRINT IN A TWO-TABLOID TOWN

Written by Jaccarino, Mike
A from-the-trenches view of New York Daily News and New York Post runners and photographers as they stop at nothing to break the story and squash their tabloid arch rivals. When author Mike Jaccarino was offered a job at the Daily News in 2006, he was asked a single question: "Kid, what are you going to do to help us beat the Post?" That was the year thing
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Fordham University Press | 336 Pages |
$29.95
product image

AMERICAN ART: COLLECTING AND CONNOISSEURSHIP

For the serious collector and connoisseur of the field of American art of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, this series of essays will be invaluable.
May 12, 2020 | Hardcover | Merrell | 304 Pages |
$70.00
product image

AMERICAN CATHOLICS: A HISTORY

Written by Tentler, Leslie Woodcock
A sweeping history of American Catholicism from the arrival of the first Spanish missionaries to the present
April 21, 2020 | Hardcover | Yale University Press | 416 Pages |
$30.00
product image

AMERICAN GODS VOLUME 3: THE MOMENT OF THE STORM

Written by Russell, P Craig
The new and old gods agree to meet in the center of America to exchange the body of the old gods' fallen leader--heading towards to the inevitable god war in this final arc to the bestselling comic series! The Hugo, Bram Stoker, Locus, World Fantasy, and Nebula Award-winning novel and hit Starz television series by NEIL GAIMAN is adapted as a graphic novel!
May 26, 2020 | Hardcover | Dark Horse Books | 224 Pages |
$29.99
product image

AMERICAN OLIGARCHS: THE KUSHNERS, THE TRUMPS, AND THE MARRIAGE OF MONEY AND POWER

Written by Bernstein, Andrea
In American Oligarchs, award-winning investigative journalist Andrea Bernstein tells the story of the Trump and Kushner families like never before. Their journey to the White House is a story of survival and loss, crime and betrayal, that stretches from the Klondike Gold Rush, through Nazi-occupied Poland and across the American Century, to our new gilded age.
January 14, 2020 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company |
$30.00

AMERICAN SUTRA: A STORY OF FAITH AND FREEDOM IN THE SECOND WORLD WAR

Written by Williams, Duncan Ryuken
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller"A must-read for anyone interested in the implacable quest for civil liberties, social and racial justice, religious freedom, and American belonging."--George Takei"A searingly instructive story...from which all Americans might learn."--Smithsonian
February 4, 2020 | Paperback | Belknap Press | 400 Pages |
$18.95
product image

AMICUS BOOK OF ANIMALS

Written by Lundie, Isobel
A graphic paper-collage of familiar animals associates their behaviors with simple descriptive language to foster recognition and reading.
February 25, 2020 | Hardcover | Amicus Ink |
$8.99
product image

AMICUS BOOK OF COLORS

Written by Lundie, Isobel
A graphic paper-collage of familiar objects associates colors with simple descriptive language to foster recognition and reading.
February 25, 2020 | Hardcover | Amicus Ink |
$8.99
product image

AMSTERDAM 14/E

Written by Out, Time
Time Out Amsterdam gives the lowdown on where to go and what to see in this dynamic city. The expert local writers take you beyond the gabled houses and picturesque canals to the places where residents work, play and imbibe. Whether you're into culture, food, design or partying until the small hours, Time Out Amsterdam will guide you to the best of this unforgettable city.
April 1, 2020 | Paperback | Time Out | 320 Pages |
$21.95

AN-MY L? ON CONTESTED TERRAIN

An-My Lê On Contested Terrain Copublished by Aperture and Carnegie Museum of Art
May 12, 2020 | Paperback | Aperture |
$65.00

ANDY WARHOL

Written by Shore, Robert
Somewhere within the iconic images, carefully-made personae, star-studded milieu, million-dollar price tags and famous quotes lies the real Andy Warhol. But who was he?
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Laurence King | 128 Pages |
$17.99
product image

ANDY WARHOL POP ART NOTECARD SET

Written by Galison
The Andy Warhol Pop Art Notecard Set from Galison contains a mashup of folded and flat card sizes featuring famous Warhol works. The accompanying envelopes offer a special "surprise and delight" feature with a famous Warhol quote printed inside the envelope closure flap.- Box Size: 5.375 x 8 x 1.125", 136 x 203 x 28 mm- 12 Cards - 2 each of 6 designs
January 21, 2020 | Other | Galison |
$16.99
product image

ANDY WARHOL QUOTATION TRAVEL JOURNAL

Written by Galison
Andy Warhol's quotes are almost as famous as his Pop Art masterpieces. The Andy Warhol Quotation Travel Journal from Galison features the quote, "The world fascinates me" in gold foil embellished type on a teal-colored vegan leather cover. Includes an insert card for contact information and a strap with gold buckle to attach to luggage.- Size: 4 x 8.25", 114 x 210 mm
February 18, 2020 | Other | Galison |
$24.99
product image

ANDY WARHOL WHAT COLORS DO YOU SEE? BOARD BOOK

Written by Mudpuppy
Children can identify and learn colors in the iconic works of the pop art master in Andy Warhol What Colors Do You See? Board Book from Mudpuppy. Featured inside are famous Warhol works including the red Campbell's soup can, yellow banana, pink cow, green camouflage, and many more!- 26 sturdy pages- Book trim: 6 x 7.5", 15 x 19 cm- Ages 0+
January 21, 2020 | Board Books | Galison | 28 Pages |
$12.99
product image

ANIMAL LANGUAGES

Written by Meijer, Eva
How animals speak to each other and to humans, from chimpanzees who learn sign language to dogs who parse the meaning of other dogs' growls.Is language what sets humans apart from other animals, as many have argued? Or do animals speak in their own languages, to each other and to us? In Animal Languages, Eva Meijer explores the latter possibility.
February 18, 2020 | Hardcover | Mit Press | 288 Pages |
$27.95
product image

ANIMALS AT LOCKWOOD MANOR

Written by Healey, Jane
A debut novel for fans of Sarah Perry and Kate Morton: when a young woman is tasked with safeguarding a natural history collection as it is spirited out of London during World War II, she discovers her new manor home is a place of secrets and terror instead of protection.
March 10, 2020 | Hardcover | Houghton Mifflin | 352 Pages |
$26.00
product image

ANIMALS MATE: A BOOK ABOUT WHERE BABIES COME FROM

"Where do babies come from?" It's a question every child asks eventually, and Animals Mate is the simple, straightforward guide every parent needs to normalize sexual reproduction via adorable animal partners.
June 9, 2020 | Hardcover | Familius | 24 Pages |
$14.99
product image

ANNE BRIGMAN: THE PHOTOGRAPHER OF ENCHANTMENT

Written by Pyne, Kathleen
The life and work of an essential photographer whose feminism and pictorialist images distanced her from the mainstream
May 26, 2020 | Hardcover | Yale University Press | 248 Pages |
$65.00
product image

APARTMENT ON URANUS: CHRONICLES OF THE CROSSING

Written by Preciado, Paul B
A "dissident of the gender-sex binary system" reflects on gender transitioning and political and cultural transitions in technoscientific capitalism.
January 28, 2020 | Paperback | Semiotext(e) | 264 Pages |
$16.95
product image

ARAB WINTER: A TRAGEDY

Written by Feldman, Noah
Why the conventional wisdom about the Arab Spring is wrong
May 12, 2020 | Hardcover | Princeton University Press | 216 Pages |
$22.95
product image

ARABS: A 3,000-YEAR HISTORY OF PEOPLES, TRIBES AND EMPIRES

Written by Mackintosh-Smith, Tim
A riveting, comprehensive history of the Arab peoples and tribes that explores the role of language as a cultural touchstone
February 4, 2020 | Paperback | Yale University Press | 656 Pages |
$18.00

ARAN: RECIPES AND STORIES FROM A BAKERY IN THE HEART OF SCOTLAND

Written by Shedden, Flora
aran (Scottish Gaelic - From the Old Irish arán) Noun. bread, loaf Aran is a beautiful cookbook from an artisan bakery in the heart of Scotland with the same name.
April 7, 2020 | Hardcover | Hardie Grant Books | 240 Pages |
$29.99
product image

ARCHITECTURE OF THE ISLAMIC WEST: NORTH AFRICA AND THE IBERIAN PENINSULA, 700-1800

Written by Bloom, Jonathan M
An authoritative survey situating some of the Western world's most renowned buildings within a millennium of Islamic history
June 30, 2020 | Hardcover | Yale University Press | 320 Pages |
$65.00

ARCHITECTURE OF YEMEN AND ITS RECONSTRUCTION

Written by Damluji, Salma Samar
This was the first book to offer an in-depth investigation into the characteristic architecture of Yemen. This new, revised edition includes drawings, documentation and information on the building and reconstruction projects carried out from 2008 to 2014 at locations in Hadrumat and Dawan.
May 26, 2020 | Hardcover | Laurence King | 368 Pages |
$95.00
product image

ARE SNAKES NECESSARY?

Written by Lehman, Susan
"It's like having a new Brian De Palma picture." - Martin Scorsese, Academy Award-winning director FROM THE DIRECTOR OF SCARFACE AND DRESSED TO KILL --
March 17, 2020 | Hardcover | Hard Case Crime | 224 Pages |
$22.99
product image

ARETHA FRANKLIN

Written by Sanchez Vegara, Maria Isabel
In this book from the critically acclaimed Little People, BIG DREAMS series, discover the life of Aretha Franklin, "The Queen of Soul."
August 4, 2020 | Hardcover | Frances Lincoln Ltd | 32 Pages |
$15.99
product image

ART OF EARTH ARCHITECTURE: PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE

Written by Dethier, Jean
For almost ten thousand years, unbaked earth has been used to build remarkable structures, from simple dwellings to palaces, temples, and fortresses both grand and durable. Jean Dethier spent fifty years researching this landmark global survey, which spans five continents and 250 sites.
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Princeton Architectural Press | 512 Pages |
$125.00
product image

ART OF PROTEST: A VISUAL HISTORY OF DISSENT AND RESISTANCE

Written by Rippon, Jo
Presented in collaboration with Amnesty International, this stunning collection of more than a hundred posters charts a visual journey across more than a century of political and social activism.
March 3, 2020 | Hardcover | Imagine | 176 Pages |
$29.99

ART OF RHETORIC

Written by Aristotle
Aristotle (384-322 BC), the great Greek thinker, researcher, and educator, ranks among the most important and influential figures in the history of philosophy, theology, and science. He joined Plato's Academy in Athens in 367 and remained there for twenty years.
June 9, 2020 | Hardcover | Harvard University Press | 400 Pages |
$32.00

New Arrivals