Travel Writing

ISLAND PEOPLE: THE CARIBBEAN AND THE WORLD

Written by Jelly-Schapiro, Joshua
This masterwork of travel literature and history provides a kaleidoscopic portrait of the Caribbean and illuminates its fierce grip on the world's imagination. From the moment Columbus gazed out from the deck of the Santa Maria in 1492 at what he mistook for an island off Asia, the Caribbean has been subjected to the misunderstandings and fantasies of outsiders.
November 28, 2017 | Paperback | Vintage | 464 Pages |
$17.00
product image

ISTANBUL (DELUXE EDITION): MEMORIES AND THE CITY

Written by Pamuk, Orhan
October 24, 2017 | Hardcover | Knopf Publishing Group |
$45.00
product image

L'APPART: THE DELIGHTS AND DISASTERS OF MAKING MY PARIS HOME

Written by Lebovitz, David
Bestselling author and world-renowned chef David Lebovitz continues to mine the rich subject of his evolving ex-Pat life in Paris, using his perplexing experiences in apartment renovation as a launching point for stories about French culture, food, and what it means to revamp one's life.
November 7, 2017 | Hardcover | Crown Publishing Group (NY) | 368 Pages |
$27.00
product image

UN-DISCOVERED ISLANDS: AN ARCHIPELAGO OF MYTHS AND MYSTERIES, PHANTOMS AND FAKES

Written by Tallack, Malachy
In The Un-Discovered Islands, critically acclaimed author Malachy Tallack takes the reader on fascinating adventures to the mysterious and forgotten corners of the map.
November 7, 2017 | Hardcover | Picador USA | 144 Pages |
$20.00
product image

MONTPARNASSE

Written by Baxter, John
In the third portrait of his series Great Parisian Neighborhoods, award-winning raconteur John Baxter takes readers on a dazzling excursion of Montparnasse.
November 7, 2017 | Paperback | Harper Perennial | 256 Pages |
$14.99
product image

CUBA ON THE VERGE: 12 WRITERS ON CONTINUITY AND CHANGE IN HAVANA AND ACROSS THE COUNTRY

Written by Guerriero, Leila
Spanning politics and art, music and baseball, Cuba on the Verge is a timely look at a society's profound transformation--from inside and outChange looms in Cuba.
December 5, 2017 | Hardcover | Ecco Press |
$26.99
product image

CALIPH'S HOUSE: A YEAR IN CASABLANCA

Written by Shah, Tahir
In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true.
December 26, 2006 | Paperback | Bantam Books |
$16.00
product image

RIGHT TO FLY

A book passionately defending balloon flight for human beings, celebrating the 175th anniversary of The London Library. The first balloon flight with passengers (a sheep, a duck, and a rooster) took place on 19th September 1783. On 4th October 1863, Nadar's giant balloon "Le Geant" had its first ascent; the second (and nearly fatal) was two weeks later.
August 1, 2017 | Paperback | Pushkin Press | 96 Pages |
$9.95
product image

WOMAN'S WALKS

Written by Campbell, Lady Colin
A book of exploration and discovery, celebrating the 175th anniversary of The London Library. From young men seeking outdoor adventure to intrepid ladies of a certain age discovering other cultures, Victorian explorers were starting to develop a more personal kind of travelogue.
June 27, 2017 | Paperback | Pushkin Press | 96 Pages |
$9.95
product image

RUTHLESS RIVER: LOVE AND SURVIVAL BY RAFT ON THE AMAZON'S RELENTLESS MADRE DE DIOS

Written by Fitzgerald, Holly
A stunning debut; a Departures original publication.
May 30, 2017 | Paperback | Vintage |
$16.00

New Arrivals