Travel Writing

product image

MONTPARNASSE

Written by Baxter, John
In the third portrait of his series Great Parisian Neighborhoods, award-winning raconteur John Baxter takes readers on a dazzling excursion of Montparnasse.
November 7, 2017 | Paperback | Harper Perennial | 256 Pages |
$14.99
product image

CUBA ON THE VERGE: 12 WRITERS ON CONTINUITY AND CHANGE IN HAVANA AND ACROSS THE COUNTRY

Written by Guerriero, Leila
Spanning politics and art, music and baseball, Cuba on the Verge is a timely look at a society's profound transformation--from inside and outChange looms in Cuba.
December 5, 2017 | Hardcover | Ecco Press |
$26.99
product image

CALIPH'S HOUSE: A YEAR IN CASABLANCA

Written by Shah, Tahir
In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true.
December 26, 2006 | Paperback | Bantam Books |
$16.00
product image

RIGHT TO FLY

A book passionately defending balloon flight for human beings, celebrating the 175th anniversary of The London Library. The first balloon flight with passengers (a sheep, a duck, and a rooster) took place on 19th September 1783. On 4th October 1863, Nadar's giant balloon "Le Geant" had its first ascent; the second (and nearly fatal) was two weeks later.
August 1, 2017 | Paperback | Pushkin Press | 96 Pages |
$9.95
product image

WOMAN'S WALKS

Written by Campbell, Lady Colin
A book of exploration and discovery, celebrating the 175th anniversary of The London Library. From young men seeking outdoor adventure to intrepid ladies of a certain age discovering other cultures, Victorian explorers were starting to develop a more personal kind of travelogue.
June 27, 2017 | Paperback | Pushkin Press | 96 Pages |
$9.95
product image

RUTHLESS RIVER: LOVE AND SURVIVAL BY RAFT ON THE AMAZON'S RELENTLESS MADRE DE DIOS

Written by Fitzgerald, Holly
A stunning debut; a Departures original publication.
May 30, 2017 | Paperback | Vintage |
$16.00
product image

WHITE SANDS: EXPERIENCES FROM THE OUTSIDE WORLD

Written by Dyer, Geoff
From one of our most original writers (Kathryn Schulz, New York magazine) comes an expansive and exacting book firmly grounded but elegant, often hilarious, and always inquisitive about travel, unexpected awareness, and the questions we ask when we step outside ourselves.
May 30, 2017 | Paperback | Vintage |
$16.95
product image

TRAFFIC

Written by Josephson, Paul
Object Lessons is a series of short, beautifully designed books about the hidden lives of ordinary things.
March 9, 2017 | Paperback | Bloomsbury Academic |
$16.95

BEST WOMEN'S TRAVEL WRITING, VOLUME 11: TRUE STORIES FROM AROUND THE WORLD

Since publishing the original edition of A Woman's World in 1995, Travelers' Tales has been the recognized national leader in women's travel literature, and with the launch of the annual series The Best Travel Writing in 2004, the obvious next step was an annual collection of the best women's travel writing of the year.
April 18, 2017 | Paperback | Travelers' Tales Guides | 328 Pages |
$19.95
product image

FLORENCE DIARY

Written by Athill, Diana
In August 1947, Diana Athill travelled to Florence by the Golden Arrow train for a two-week holiday with her good friend Pen.
April 11, 2017 | Hardcover | House of Anansi Press | 80 Pages |
$16.95

New Arrivals