Travel Writing

50 GREATEST TRAIN JOURNEYS OF THE WORLD

No information available
August 1, 2016 | Paperback |
$14.95
product image

ABDUCTING A GENERAL: THE KREIPE OPERATION IN CRETE

Written by Fermor, Patrick Leigh
One of the most daring feats in Patrick Leigh Fermor s daring life was the kidnapping of General Kreipe, the German commander in Crete, on April 26, 1944. "Abducting a General," now published for the first time in the United States, is Leigh Fermor s own account of the kidnapping.
November 3, 2015 | Hardcover | New York Review of Books | 240 Pages |
$24.95

ACROSS THE ARCTIC OCEAN: ORIGINAL PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE LAST GREAT POLAR JOURNEY

Written by Sir Wally Herbert
An unparalleled look at the first surface crossing of the Arctic Ocean, and probably the first expedition to reach the North Pole by surface travel, through the words and images of the man who led it
September 8, 2015 | Hardcover | Thames & Hudson |
$39.95
product image

ALASKA'S GREATEST OUTDOOR LEGENDS: COLORFUL CHARACTERS WHO BUILT THE FISHING AND HUNTING INDUSTRIES

Written by Kelly, Doug
Outdoor tourism is one of Alaska s biggest industries, and the thousands of people who flock to the state s dramatic landscapes and pristine waters to hunt and fish are supported by a large and growing network of guides, lodges, outfitters, and wildlife biologists.
August 15, 2016 | Paperback | University of Alaska Press | 320 Pages |
$29.95
product image

ALL STRANGERS ARE KIN: ADVENTURES IN ARABIC AND THE ARAB WORLD

Written by O'Neill, Zora
The shaddais the key difference between a pigeon (hamam) and a bathroom (hammam). Be careful, our professor advised, in the first moment of outright humor in class, that you don t ask a waiter, Excuse me, where is the pigeon? or, conversely, order a roasted toilet.
June 14, 2016 | Hardcover | Houghton Mifflin |
$25.00
product image

ALL THE BUILDINGS IN LONDON: THAT I'VE DRAWN SO FAR

Written by Hancock, James Gulliver
The follow-up to the hugely popular "All the Buildings in New York," this is a charmingly illustrated journey through London, one building at a time. "All the Buildings in London" is a love letter to London, told through James Gulliver Hancock s unique and charming drawings of the city s diverse architectural styles and streetscapes.
February 16, 2016 | Hardcover | Universe Publishing(NY) |
$19.95
product image

ALPS: A HUMAN HISTORY FROM HANNIBAL TO HEIDI AND BEYOND

Written by O'Shea, Stephen
For centuries the Alps have seen the march of armies, the flow of pilgrims and Crusaders, the feats of mountaineers, and the dreams of engineers?and some 14 million people live among their peaks today.
February 21, 2017 | Hardcover | W. W. Norton & Company | 336 Pages |
$26.95
product image

AMERICAN SCENE

Written by James, Henry
After living abroad for 20 years, Henry James returned to his native America and travelled down the East Coast from Boston to Florida. This a journal describing his feelings on the rediscovery of the New York of his childhood, and the growth of modern commercial America.
December 1, 1994 | Paperback | Penguin Books |
$26.00
product image

ANTARCTIC BOOK OF COOKING AND CLEANING: A POLAR JOURNEY

Written by Devine, Carol
A visually captivating, novelistic travelogue that chronicles the first civilian environmental cleanup expedition in Antarctica an engaging true story told through anecdotes, journal entries, vignettes, recipes, and archival and contemporary photography.
May 5, 2015 | Hardcover | Harper Design | 272 Pages |
$40.00
product image

ARABIAN SANDS

Written by Thesiger, Wilfred
"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." The Daily Telegraph
December 1, 2007 | Paperback | Penguin Books |
$17.00

New Arrivals