Covid Announcement

Due to the volume of orders we're currently receiving and the limited number of staff we have on-site for our safety and yours, we may not be able to immediately respond to your call.  If you have questions about your orders please write to bookstore@rizzoliusa.com.

For updates on shop hours and policiesclick here.

PRINCESS SPY: THE TRUE STORY OF WORLD WAR II SPY ALINE GRIFFITH, COUNTESS OF ROMANONES

product image
By: 
Publication Date: 
February 9, 2021
Format: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Trim Size: 
9.1in. x 6.3in. x 1.5in.
ISBN: 
9781982143862
Availability: 
In Stock
About This Item: 
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Seen on Today What to Read in 2021 --The Washington Post Book of the Month --Palm Beach Book Festival Best Books to Read This February --Town, Country ​The international bestselling author of the "exciting, suspenseful, inspirational" (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Code Name: Lise weaves another exceptional and thrilling hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS's most daring spies in World War II before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls. When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live "a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious" (Time). As the US enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes. Aline's life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services--forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans, any of whom could be an enemy agent. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage to counter Nazi tactics in Madrid. Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections. Filled with twists, romance, and plenty of white-knuckled adventures fit for a James Bond film, The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a remarkable American woman who risked everything to serve her country.
$28.00
Binding: 
HC

New Arrivals

product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image
product image